Live Like a King

Return of the Guardian King CSFF Blog Tour Day 3

Posted on: April 18, 2007

Ok, I know I promised to critque Karen’s writing today. So I’ll get that out of the way first thing. Here’s my critique: I hope that someday I can write a CSFF novel half as good as she can. Honestly.

Now that’s out of the way, I’d like to highlight some other blogs I’ve enjoyed during the tour. My friend who introduced me to Karen Hancock’s writing (or did I introduce her? I don’t remember!) Shannon McNear has a wonderful interview with Karen on her blog (Tuesday, 4/17’s post). Shannon is also a great writer and I can’t wait to get autographed copies of her books when they are published.

I laughed out loud at Rebecca’s blog post entitled Ten Things that Really Bug Me. Like Rebecca, I do have to admit I feel the ending was rushed. I know that publishers like to keep word counts down, but as a reader, I was BIG word counts! I want as many words as needed to tell the story. It felt like the ending got sacrificed to maintain a certain word count.

The ending hasn’t stopped me from enjoying the book. I read it through really fast (completed within 24 hours of receipt due to a fortuitous stomach virus), but I am doing something I’ve never done before. I am going to read it again slowly now. I started it today only three weeks after I read it again.

2 Responses to "Return of the Guardian King CSFF Blog Tour Day 3"

Now that’s my kind of review! 😀

Becky

LOL!!! Mine too … and you’re TOO sweet! (And oh good, I’m not the only one who plans to go back and reread the book, and SOON!)

Leave a Reply

