Live Like a King

Out of Focus

Posted on: April 21, 2007

I was up at 2:30 am to spend time with the Lord. I’ve finally decided that I need to get up in the middle of the night to have any peace for a quiet time. That’s the way it is when you live with 8 people in a house meant for 4. 🙂

As I was praying, I was talking to the Lord about all the things going on in my home. I’m embarrassed and distressed to say that there seems to be a lot of bickering, lying, stealing, anger, and general discord in my family in recent months. It’s very discouraging and really wears me down. I’ve wanted to sink into depression, but I keep telling myself that doing so would just make it worse. Instead, I’ve been praying and turning to the Lord.

During the night, I had a revelation that I shared with my dh early this morning. My 5 yog has been asking to have devotions every night for the past three weeks. We’re always too busy. We used to pray with our kids and over our kids every Sunday, but we’ve been too busy. I want to have a Bible and prayer time each morning, but somehow we always get started too late and I jump into academics. I’m too busy. When discipline issues come up, I either yell at them to knock it off or ignore it in hopes of getting the math lesson done with the child I’m working with. I’m too busy.

Well the Lord reminded me of His wonderful promise in Matthew 6:33, “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness. And all these things will be added to you.”

I am to seek the Lord’s Kingdom first in my children. What good is it if my daughter knows math, but her brother goes to hell?

So dh and I came up with a plan. First, we need to repent and ask the kids’ forgiveness for not training them properly. We decided that after dinner each night, we will read a small portion of Scripture and discuss it together. It may be just a small section or a chapter. But it’s easy to do and we can all discuss it (especially if we use the kids’ Bibles). I’m going to dig out my books (bought when my oldest children were just babies) For Instruction in Righteousness, Polished Cornerstones, and Plants Grown Up and pick out projects to complete with them. I’m also going to be observing my children to decide which character qualities they need work on and do a little Bible study with each of them and give them Scripture to memorize. Most of their character issues are just a reflection of my own so this will be good for me.

I’m so grateful that the Lord answers us when we ask. He is so good!

In His service,

Dawn

Leave a Reply

