Live Like a King

Day 3 of the CSFF Blog Tour for Legend of the Firefish, book one of The Trophy Chase series (Harvest House), by George Bryan Polivka

Posted on: August 22, 2007

I am sorry I am just posting on Day 3. I have been sick since last Thursday and I’m finally feeling like part of the living. πŸ™‚

Anyway, yesterday I went to read some reviews on the book, Legend of the Firefish by George Bryan Polivka. I read the book over a month ago and I have to say, at first I didn’t like it. It was hard for me to get into. I could not relate to Packer or Panna or even get into the world. I don’t know why…But since I knew I had to post on this, I continued to read. After half of the book, I couldn’t put it down. I HAD to see how it ended! LOL

As I reflecting this morning, I think that my dislike had nothing to do with the writing. It’s a great story told by a masterful writer. I just had a hard time with the characters themselves. They were definitely real to me! I think too real and that’s what bothered me.

Packer: I just couldn’t “get” his motivation for stowing away on the Trophy Chase. I mean it defied logic to me. But you know I’m a woman who likes safety and security.

Panna: I thought she was such a sissy (and in truth, she was at first). I had a hard time with some of the things she did.

In fact, I had a hard time with some of the choices both of them made. I had a hard time believing that a “Christian” would do some of those things. Actually the actions are probably what some Christians would do, it just bothered me that they would.

I was very bothered by Talon and Scat’s brutality. Her point of view was disturbing to my sensibilities. It bothered me more than any other book I’ve read (except maybe Arena where there was a passing mention of eating people).

But like I said in the beginning, I finally got over my difficulties and could not put it down. When I was finished, I knew I would have to buy the rest of the series to see what happens. πŸ™‚

Check out Rebecca Luella Miller’s blog for a good summary of what else is happened on the blog tour…

Here’s a list of other participants:
Trish Anderson
Brandon Barr
Wayne Thomas Batson
Jim Black
Justin Boyer
Grace Bridges
Amy Browning
Jackie Castle
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Frank Creed
Lisa Cromwell
CSFF Blog Tour
Gene Curtis
D. G. D. Davidson
Merrie Destefano
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Linda Gilmore
Beth Goddard
Marcus Goodyear
Russell Griffith
Jill Hart
Katie Hart
Sherrie Hibbs
Christopher Hopper
Jason Joyner
Kait
Karen
Dawn King
Tina Kulesa
Lost Genre Guild
Terri Main
Rachel Marks
Karen McSpadden
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Eve Nielsen
John W. Otte
John Ottinger
Robin Parrish
Lyn Perry
Deena Peterson
Rachelle
Cheryl Russel
Chawna Schroeder
Mirtika Schultz
James Somers
Steve Trower
Speculative Faith
Jason Waguespac
Daniel I. Weaver
Janey DeMeo

1 Response to "Day 3 of the CSFF Blog Tour for Legend of the Firefish, book one of The Trophy Chase series (Harvest House), by George Bryan Polivka"

Really interesting! I’m curious what the turning point was for you when you couldn’t put the book down.

If I remember right (I wrote my review back in February!), I put character motivation down as a weakness of the book too. For me, I didn’t get Packer going onto the ship in the first place. I did like him coming to that point of decision when he was in the barrel that whatever God had for him, he was OK with. But once he was on board the ship, he sort of decided, never mind. I didn’t think his turnaround was motivated well.

Anyway, good comments. So sorry you were sick!

Becky

Leave a Reply

