Live Like a King

Not going through the motions…

Posted on: May 21, 2009

Last night our pastor talked to us about giving our all for God. It’s a theme that’s been on my heart for some time. Even the FCM Woman’s Conference was based on this theme.

One of my favorite songs is Matthew West’s “The Motions”. Here’s the first two verses & the chorus:

This might hurt, it’s not safe
But I know that I’ve gotta make a change
I don’t care if I break,
At least I’ll be feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of life

I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

No regrets, not this time
I’m gonna let my heart defeat my mind
Let Your love make me whole
I think I’m finally feeling something
‘Cause just okay is not enough
Help me fight through the nothingness of this life

‘Cause I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

So what does giving everything look like in your life? One thing Bob said last night was that some people are able to fill their entire day with God while others fill it with satisfying their flesh. So what does filling my day with God look like? How do I do that? I certainly cannot pray all day or read my Bible for 8 hours. I know that is not what Bob means anyway.

I have to ponder this some more and see what kind of changes I can make in my life to draw near to Him. He’s the source, the only One with the solutions to the trials I am facing now.

2 Responses to "Not going through the motions…"

Great to see you back online! I hope your life is getting more settled down. A story about what G-d did regarding your housing, etc, would be great to read.

I enjoyed your post. I understand the desire to live a life consumed with Him and the struggle to find what it is. I’m still doing that myself and having just hit my 54th birthday this month is causing more soul searching. I do know He is there, but sometimes it sure doesn’t seem like it.

I like a poem that was on a plaque that someone gave me years ago and got lost somewhere in one of our many moves.

Trust Him when dark doubts assail thee,
Trust Him when thy strength is small,
Trust Him when it seems to trust Him
Is the hardest thing of all.

I don’t remember the author to give credit where credit is due.

I know you’ve had a lesson in that this last year plus with all you’ve been through.

Love and shalom,
Serena

I’ll post a long story once it is over. Unfortunately, it’s not over yet. We’ll have to sue Liberty Mutual to get all the money due us.

Leave a Reply

