Live Like a King

Real Love

Posted on: May 29, 2009

Every year I sense the Lord impress upon me a theme that I need to work on. This year it is my “love walk”. Joyce Meyer mentions this frequently in her teachings and in fact, her conference in September in St. Louis is called Love Revolution.

Love is not something that is natural to us humans. Over the past few months I’ve been examining my heart about the people I “love”. I’m embarrassed to say that my love is based upon what they do for me. I love my husband because he treats me great. I love my friends because they affirm me or do things for me. I’m even like that with my family. I’m closer to the people who can do things for me. I am more loving with the kids who give me less trouble. Or I do loving things so that people can see how wonderful I am. Like people will stand around saying how wonderful of a parent I am because I do xxx for my kids or my dh will brag about how wonderful I am to his co-workers and they will be jealous. My motives are not love, at least not God’s definition of love. How sad is that? It disgusts me to think that I am that way. But I am. And I have to think that I am not the only person like this.

I Corinthians 13: 1-3 tells us that we can do everything right, but if we are not doing it with agape love, it counts as nothing. Wow. All my parenting, self-sacrifice, etc. means nothing if I am not doing it with the motive of love. I’ve spent my life spinning my wheels for no reason.

Agape love is defined in 1 Corithinans 13, Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

In other words, agape love is unconditionally working toward that person’s good regardless of how it affects us or what he does for us or how he treats us or how we will look to other people. This is not natural, it is a supernatural thing. Agape love is only something we can get from a relationship with God through His Son Jesus Christ. And it takes an INTIMATE relationship to really achieve agape love as a regular part of our character. Then agape love becomes something that leaks out of us because we are so full of His love for us.

Recently I read a blog post on Matthew 24:12, “Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold.” Why does love grow cold? Because of a lack of intimate relationship with Jesus. For variety of reasons, many Christians allow themselves to have a surface relationship with the Lord and are not infused with His love. I know I have this problem. When I back off from the Lord, my love does grow cold for those around me. I get too focused on me and my life instead of reaching out with Christ’s love to a hurt and dying world.

Lord, may I consciously draw near to you and become a conduit for your love. Real love.

1 Response to "Real Love"

“I’m embarrassed to say that my love is based upon what they do for me. ”

Ditto, unfortunately. It’s much harder to love when a person can’t do anything for me, or when I’m afraid of them pulling me down. Thank you for a vulnerable and truthful post that elaborates on what it means to love like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

