Live Like a King

Isaiah 26:3,4

Posted on: June 1, 2009

You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever, for in YAH, the Lord, is everlasting strength.

I need God’s peace…so many things are in a tumult in my life. Unresolved problems with Liberty Mutual, unfinished house with a deadline fast approaching, an attorney that seems too busy, our finances in disarray, wondering when we can get groceries or if I will be able to spend my birthday money on me (like that last one is really important in the grand scheme of things!). All those things together could crush me under their weight.

I’m not the one to bear them. Because I belong to Jesus. I am His beloved and I do not need to worry. He will work things out and make them right. I believe this.

But my mind likes to wander and try to figure it out. Try to save us myself. Try to make things right and correct mistakes. The problem is that when I try to do that, I make things worse, much worse. And I’m grumpy with everyone around me and have no patience. Even more disturbing, I find my faith level dropping into the sewer pipes like a draining sink. I find myself thinking of where we will live if we lose our house, how will Chris get to work if our van breaks down, what will we do if, if, if.

2 Corinthians 10:5 tells us cast down arguments and every high things that exalts itself against the knowledge of God. My “if, if, if” is trying to overcome what I know about God and His goodness.

I need to replace my “if, if, if” with God’s peace by keeping my mind stayed on Him. Peace in Isaiah 26:3 is written in Hebrew as shalom, shalom. (In Hebrew, when a word or concept is repeated, it means that it is being emphasized. It’s like typing ALL CAPS in internet speak.) Shalom encompasses health, happiness, well-being, peace.

The word “mind” in the Hebrew here means “creative imagination.” My creative imagination should be planning to thank the Lord that He’s gotten us through this time.

The Spirit-Filled Life Bible sums it up like this, “Isaiah’s thought is that he whose creative imagination, the seat of plans and ideas, is firmly founded on the eternal Lord, will enjoy shalom in all its implications.”

That’s my misson for the day.

Leave a Reply

