Live Like a King

Peace

Posted on: June 9, 2009

This morning I read a devotional from MorningStar Ministries entitled “Peace on Earth.” It is certainly an appropriate topic for the times we are living in. North Korea has nuclear weapons, Islamic jihadists want to wipe us off the face of the earth, people are unemployed, homeless, sick, and hurting. In my own life, I certainly have enough things to make me drown in a sea of anxiety.

Just a few years ago, I would have been unable to sleep and constantly nauseous. But I have decided that I will NOT live that way. I am not going to walk around constantly cranky, unable to sleep or enjoy my life. Yes, I have my moments, but praise God, I’ve seen Him come through enough for me that I know that He will again.

It came down to a choice, just like so many things in my life and walk. I must CHOOSE to walk in peace and not dwell on all the crises around me. I must meditate on my God and His goodness instead of meditating on whether I will have air conditioning this summer or whether my insurance company will actually pay up.

And I must CHOOSE to act with Christ’s character when faced with the people that Satan is using to induce these crises. I must remember that :

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints– Ephesians 6:10-18

Lord, may I be able to bring glory to Your name during the trials of my life. I know that trials will come, must come. May I learn all that I should through them, constantly drawing closer to you through them, and be more than a conquerer.

1 Response to "Peace"

I needed that today. I’m glad you posted it.

Love and shalom,
Serena

Leave a Reply

