Live Like a King

Earning Intimacy with God?

Posted on: June 10, 2009

Today I received a devotion by Gregory Dickow entitled, “If I just pray of live holy enough, I will get closer to God.” He feels this thought is a works mentality, that if we believe this we are trying to earn our intimacy with God. Instead we need to accept that Jesus lives inside us, that we don’t have “earn” closeness, but that it is a gift.

I think that is all true to a certain extent, but at the same time, James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”

Yes, it is true that I am the temple of the Holy Spirit and Jesus dwells inside me, but it is incumbent upon me to draw nearer to Him. I have to make some effort here. Not as a legalistic “I must pray 10 hours per day or fast twice a week” but because I want to be close to Him. In order to do that, I have to spend time in prayer, Bible study and even fasting. I do need to cleanse my hands of my sin and purify my heart because that is pleasing to God and it removeds blocks between us.

I see it as a natural progression…first you make the effort to draw near to God (after all you have to make an effort to get to know your spouse before you start dating), then the sin you were immursed in is not so wonderful looking as it was before. And before long your heart is purified.

No, intimacy with God is certainly not effortless. You definitely do have to work at it. But that doesn’t mean we earn it. It’s already been earned through Jesus and His sacrifice.

1 Response to "Earning Intimacy with God?"

Thank you Jesus that it is not by works, but by your Grace!!!!!!!!

Because Lord, if it was by works I would never make it:)

Karen

Leave a Reply

