Live Like a King

Strengthen Yourself in the Lord

Posted on: June 10, 2009

In 1 Samuel 30, David is going through a crisis. Arriving back from being kicked out of the Philistines camp where he hid because Saul was after him, David finds that his entire city had been taken captive. Including his two wives and children. His men were quite angry and ready to stone him. Verse 6 says, “Now David was greatly distressed,  for the people spoke of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and daughters. But David strengthened himself in the LORD his God.

Wow, in the midst of such a crisis, David turned to his relationship with the Lord for strength. Instead of freaking out about the fact that everyone was ready to stone him, he turned to the only One who could help him in that situation.

This morning I woke up in a bad mood. Last night Chris tried to install some window air conditioners that survived the fire because they were in the shed instead of in the house. We don’t have the central air running because the contractor is not finishing the house until we get more money from Liberty Mutual and Liberty Mutual is not giving us more right now. We’ll probably have to wait until after the lawsuit unless something changes. Back to the a/c problem…I have asthma and need it to breathe when it gets very humid. We have a small one running in our bedroom. We thought installing the two smaller ones we have downstairs would work ok, except they didn’t fit. Apparently the new windows are too wide. <sigh>So now I am faced with a summer of hiding in my bedroom because we can’t afford to buy a new A/C unit for downstairs (or the third floor) or pay to finish the central air. Thanks Liberty Mutual. I appreciate all the opportunities for growth that you business practices provide (said with a sarcastic tone).

But when I’m feeling down, frustrated and like I can’t take it anymore (which seems to be more and more frequently) God always reminds me to come up and trust Him. I have to. There is no earthly thing I can do right now to make my situation better. Nothing.

I need to follow after David’s example and strenthen myself in the Lord. He has come through for my family before. We received cash in the mail with a postal address in England when Chris was out of work 8 years ago. He has miraculously provided food, shelter, and other things when we needed it. He has given us favor with people needed to get our house rebuilt. He promises that my children won’t be begging for their supper (I assume that is from strangers since they are constantly begging me for food! LOL). He promises that He will never leave me or forsake me. And the best promise is that whatever earthly struggles I have will fade to insignificance in the world to come. I am certainly not going to remember about the stupid a/c while beholding Jesus’ face. I can get through and perservere because He who is in me is greater than he who is in the world.

So get up, dust yourself off, Dawn, trust God and do the next thing (which happens to be Mt. Laundry).

2 Responses to "Strengthen Yourself in the Lord"

I think maybe you could fill in that area where it doesn’t fit with a board cut to fit there. You could use small L-brackets to stabilize the board to the frame of the window. I’ve seen this done before. Your bigger problem would be if the ac was too big for the window. If your husband cannot handle doing that, maybe you have a friend with the skills necessary? If I was close by, I’d be glad to help you since I’m kind of good at that kind of thing. You could look at Home Depot in the area where they sell the scrap wood and maybe find a small piece of plywood to do the job. They have the L-brackets, too.

Love and shalom,
Serena

Dawn, you truly are a woman of God! Your faith will grow even more because of your determination. In verses 18 & 19 of the same chapter it says, “So David RECOVERED ALL that the Amalekites had carried away, and David rescued his two wives. AND NOTHING OF THEIRS WAS LACKING, EITHER SMALL OR GREAT, sons or daughters, spoil or anything which they had taken from them; DAVID RECOVERED ALL!

So as the word says in Is. 55…….God’s word will not return back to him void, BUT WILL DO EVERYTHING HE SETS IT OUT TO DO!!!!!!

I look forward to hearing your praise report…….Karen

Leave a Reply

