Live Like a King

What an Awesome Thing

Posted on: June 12, 2009

My favorite author and blogger, Karen Hancock, wrote a post today that blessed me. She said, “that He’s made me a priest and I can go to Him whenever I want… I think that in particular is something we take for granted. In the age of Israel, people just couldn’t go to God whenever they wanted. Though sometimes God came to them, like with Gideon, usually they had to go to the priest and ask him to talk to God for them. Or if God had said anything to the priest that the person needed to know. Or they had to confess their sins to him and ask him to sacrifice an animal for them. “

We just don’t get it. For much of history, God was Someone who most people were unable to approach. That they had to worship Him from a distance. Only a very few knew Him up close and had an intimate relationship with Him. Why is that?

I think that many people, knowing God had established the sacrifices and the Law were content in just following that. They were content with a distant relationship with Him, living by the rules, just getting by. Those that truly loved Him pressed in to know Him. And He revealed Himself to them.Were they the most faithful to His Laws? I believe they did they best they could but at the same time, being human, they failed. The Law was given to us to show us our sin and need for a savior. David, Moses, Isaiah, Daniel and the other heroes of the Old Testament all knew this. They knew that they could never, ever earn their way to God. They had to throw themselves on His mercy and grace. And they knew that somehow, some way, God would make the ultimate atonement for them.

Sadly, only a few people out of the millions that lived before Christ reached true intimacy with God. Let’s face it, even today, when God isn’t striking people dead for touching the Ark or showing up as a pilar of fire, intimacy with God is a scary thing. Sometimes He shows you things about yourself you don’t want to see. He asks you do hard things, like forgive your enemies and love people you’d rather avoid.

It always brings me to tears thinking about the fact that the God of the Universe, who is the Designer of the very intricate creation wants to be close to me. Too often I push Him away. Many times it is out of fear because I know He will ask hard things of me. Or ask me to give up something I love because He knows it is getting in the way of my destiny. I’m stubborn and rebellious and want things my own way. I rely too much on my own understanding and not enough on His. Many times I think I’m just a big screw up and question His judgment in choosing me or giving me 7 kids.

But He knew what He was getting when He called me. I am not a surprise to Him. That, my friends, makes all the difference.

Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good; Blessed is the (wo)man who trusts in Him! Ps. 34:8

Bless the LORD, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from destruction, who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, who satisfies your mouth with good things, so that your youth is renews like the eagle’s. Ps. 103:1-5

1 Response to "What an Awesome Thing"

You know Dawn…….God did know what he was getting when He called us. I too many times tend to want to control everything in my own life as well. Even down to the simplest things as losing weight. I often at times leave God out of my exercise routine or choice of some foods that I eat. I guess in my mind I think why would the God of the Universe be concerened about my diet issues (which by the way tears me to pieces sometimes), I think this is so little compared to the things He deals with like world crises, people dying everyday without even knowing Him, or people killing the innocent………but you know I learn that yes, if my weight is an issue to me, than it is certainly an issue with my Heavenly Father who loves me and everything about me with an everlasting love. He has a plan not only for me, but for all his children…..His plan is for us to prosper (Jerm. 29:11) and I believe it is to prosper in everything, even a loss weight!!!!!

Karen

Leave a Reply

