Live Like a King

“Disadvantages” of Homeschooling

Posted on: June 14, 2009

This morning I read the Spunky Homeschool blog and her comments on another article on the supposed disadvantages of homeschooling. While I agree that homeschooling does take a lot of time, effort, and energy I feel it was worth it.

This paragraph cracked me up though:

One disadvantage is the financial burden or hardship it can impose upon a family. It is the responsibility of the parents to purchase the curriculum needed for home schooling where the public school provides it at no charge.

This means parents must purchase books, materials, computer software and other resources in order to teach the lessons. Parents must fund all field trips, outings or special activities. Often, one of the parents must give up his or her job to home school. The loss of a second income in a two-income household can be detrimental. This can be a significant disadvantage and it can disrupt the harmony of the home.

As a former homeschooler (who hopes to return), let me tell you, I hate having my kids in public school. Yes, the days without them were nice and quiet. I could keep the house reasonably clean, cook nicer meals, and work on insurance paperwork without interruption (except from my 3 year old). BUT those positives  are far outweighed by the negatives.

Address the “cost” issue stated above. Almost every day, I received notifications for some type of fundraiser. My older middle school children had to actually sell items. My 8th grader didn’t even have a regular science textbook. Instead she had to access it online. She also had to pay for a vocabulary workbook. Outings and field trips were paid for by me, including the ones that didn’t have an entry fee. I still had to pay for the bus rental. It was frustrating to my kids that I could not afford to purchase books from the book fairs, extra pictures, candy cane pens, yearbooks, etc. for them. It was frustrating for me as well. On top of that, wehad to spend extra for clothes and backpacks and shoes. And don’t forget the projects that I need to purchase items for, like poster board, glue, special paper, about which you are likely not informed about until bedtime.

Another reason I do not like having my kids at public school is that it gives me less time to teach them about their faith. And in some cases, what is taught is directly opposite of what I want my kids to believe (like evolution vs. creationism or sexual behavior).

As for time, I think I’d rather be able to teach my kid throughout the day than have to cram in all the homework in the few hours they are home in the evening. Apparently according the the teachers, I am still supposed to make sure they do their homework and they want me to initial all their agenda books. I’m not off the hook by sending my kids to public school

My 9 year old is bored in school because he grasps concepts quickly, yet he has to wait for the rest of the class. My 7 year old  has been the target of bullying. My 12 year old was hit in the face by another student. My 13 year old had vicious rumors spread about her. Certainly these things would not happen in homeschool.

The bottom line is that both schooling choices have advantages and disadvantages. Each family has to weigh those choices and come up what works best for their particular situation.

2 Responses to "“Disadvantages” of Homeschooling"

Dawn…..well put girlfriend!!!!!! You speak the truth. I really dislike some of the issues that have to do with the public school system. You said it well when you said, “Parents have to weigh out the advantages and disadvantages, and see what works better for them.”

Karen

[…] “Disadvantages” of Homeschooling West on the Harms of Homeschooling Homeschooling During the High School Years The Advantages Advantages of Homeschooling – Do You Homeschool? Time to consider the benefits of home schooling (again) The Benefits of Homeschooling […]

Leave a Reply

