Live Like a King

More Breadmaking Problems

Posted on: July 15, 2009

Well I’ve made a couple more batches of bread dough since I last posted about it. One problem I’ve often had, even years ago when I first started making bread was that I’d forget to put the salt in. And that makes bread that tastes NASTY. It’s dull, lacking any type of flavor. As Alton Brown said in one of his shows, “Salt just makes everything taste better.” That is definitely true about bread.

I was especially disappointed that my cinnamon carmel pull-aparts didn’t come out. I must have forgotten to put in the salt because although the caramel topping was tasty, the bread part was so plain it made the whole thing taste awful. I had talked it up so much at church that I was bringing these wonderful confections to the VBS brunch and here I was, too embarrassed to bring them.

I love how The Message puts it, “First pride, then the crash–the bigger the ego, the harder the fall.” (Prov. 16:18) LOL Thank the Lord my ego about breadmaking and baking isn’t huge or I would have been devastated. And my pull-aparts were not even missed.

At Ladies’ Bible Study on Monday night, we started what will be a long and thorough study of the Sermon on the Mount. Lori reminded me of my breadmaking disasters and Matthew 5:13 ““You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.”

Again, The Message says it so well, bringing out the point into broad daylight, ““Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage” Reading that is definitely an “ouch” moment for me!

I decided to google how salt loses it’s saltiness. I found that the only way salt can lose it’s flavor is through dilution. Salt, NcCL is a chemical bond that is very stable, so it can’t just lose it’s flavor unless it becomes something else entirely.

In Jesus’ time and even in the Middle East today, salt is usually made from sea water that is evaporated off, leaving the salt and all the minerals behind. This salt can lose it’s saltiness, but again, only by dilution. If there are way more “impurities” than NaCL, then the rock “salt” will not be salty. Apparently, they would use this type of stuff on roads and paths like we use gravel.

It is so easy as a Christian for my righteousness and the Gospel message to get diluted in my life. There’s so many things on my plate right now that oftentimes Bible study and prayer get pushed aside. I’m definitely more like Martha. My testimony can get watered down when I talk too much about my problems instead of the God who is big enough to solve it. (Ouch, ouch, OUCH!). My spiritual discernment can get watered down when I allow myself to watch and listen to things that contain questionable things.

So the solution is to immerse myself in Him and His Word, so that I too can flavor the world, drawing people to Him.

(Just for the record, I am not thrilled with my ending, but since my kids are all of sudden pulling at my attention, my mind cannot come up with a good close for this. So sorry!).


Leave a Reply

