Live Like a King

CSFF Blog Tour Day 3~The Enclave

Posted on: July 22, 2009

Well today my plan was to just highlight some of the other talented blog tour participants. My writing is not nearly as good and interesting as some of my fellow posters. That is until I read Becky Miller’s Day 2 post. Becky discussed how the protagonists’ faith is really a block to getting the things they want…a successful career in science, prestige, and honor instead of being the crutch that critics of Christianity try to make it out to be. She also reminds us that non-Christians, of course, do not run into this problem.

I’ve often thought that non-Christians must have a boring inner life. I know that’s not true, but I do know the wars that occur in my mind. God is always working on something in me and I’ve often had a difficult struggle. Maybe that’s something that only happens here in NJ. πŸ™‚

There are times I want to tell off someone who is treating me wrong or want to act as nasty as they are acting towards me. But God is telling me to “Love your enemies, pray for those who spitefully use you.”

There are times I want to give in the the fear and despair of my circumstances but God says to fear not, do not worry, seek first His kingdom. Totally opposite of what my flesh and the world and the devil are telling me to do.

No, I haven’t been faced with a career killing choice of following God like Lacey andΒ  Cam have. But I have been faced with the same choice Joshua and the Israelites faced.

I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live;that you may love the Lord your God, that you may obey His voice, and that you may cling to Him, for He is your life and the length of your days; and that you may dwell in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.” Deut. 30:19-20

…choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. Josh. 25:15

And now back to my regularly scheduled blog post…

Today I want to highlight a few of the great blog posts on the tour for The Enclave by Karen Hancock.

Beth Goddard has a nice chatty review. I wish mine were as easy to write as she makes it look!

Elizabeth Williams has a detailed analysis of the book with both pros and cons. I think some of her criticisms have merit.

Karen Hancock has answers to some publicity questions, plus links to other excellent posts and an interview.

I’d like to highlight these other blogs out of the list because I think their posts are noteworthy:

Keanan Brand

Canadianladybug

Todd Michael Greene

Fred Warren

Krystine Kercher ***spoiler warning***

Rebecca Luella Miller

Steve Rice

Stephanie

Rachel Starr Thomson

The entire CSFF Blog Tour crew:

Brandon Barr
Jennifer Bogart
Keanan Brand
Grace Bridges
Canadianladybug
Melissa Carswell
Valerie Comer
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Janey DeMeo
Jeff Draper
Emmalyn Edwards
April Erwin
Karina Fabian
Beth Goddard
Todd Michael Greene
Heather R. Hunt
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Mike Lynch
Melissa Meeks
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Mirtika
Eve Nielsen
Nissa
John W. Otte
Steve Rice
Crista Richey
James Somers
Speculative Faith
Stephanie
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Elizabeth Williams

5 Responses to "CSFF Blog Tour Day 3~The Enclave"

Excellent post, Dawn. I think NJ and SoCal have more in common than I realized. πŸ˜‰

Actually, I find your article an amazing confirmation of my faith. That God can take two women living a continent apart, in diverse situations, and give us a common heart and a common understanding of Who He is, shows me His power and transcendence. He is not limited by the differences in our lives. Our faith is not a result of cultural constructs. God is greater.

Becky

[…] Cris Jesse √ √ Jason Joyner √ √ √ Julie Carol Keen √ √ Krystine Kercher √ √ √ Dawn King Mike Lynch √ Shannon McNear Melissa Meeks Mirtika √ Eve Nielsen √ Nissa […]

Thanks for linking to me! Enjoyed your thoughts here as well :).

No, Dawn, it doesn’t just happen in NJ and SoCal, it happens in AZ as well. As I think you know. πŸ˜€ Not only is God always at work, but our enemies are tireless. Maybe that’s why He decreed we’d have to sleep while we’re in these mortal bodies! So we can get a break from them. LOL.

Thanks for your reviews and comments. I especially got a kick out of your first one where you were squealing at the birthday party.

Dawn! You really are like a breath of fresh air:) I love your sincerity and honesty! You are beautiful, and I loved talking and sharing with you last night!

God Bless,
Karen

Leave a Reply

